Billing Rights and Responsibilities

Each customer receiving services from Cascade Natural Gas Corporation has certain rights and responsibilities regarding billing and payment for our services.

Establishing Credit

  • Both residential and business customers will be required to establish credit at the time of application.
  • You will be required to pay a security deposit if you cannot demonstrate satisfactory credit history.
  • Security requirements are based on two-twelfths of the estimated annual usage. If you are unable to pay a security deposit, we can work with you to develop payment alternatives.
  • Security deposits will be refunded after 12 months of satisfactory payment.

General Billing Information

In Washington: We will read your meter approximately every 30 days. Bills are generated and mailed the following day and due and payable upon receipt. Bills are past due 15 days later. If payment has not been received by the past due date, a notice will be mailed or personally delivered to your residence and payment is expected within eight business days. Prior to disconnection, a final 72-hour notice will be delivered by phone, mail, or personal delivery to your residence informing you of the date of disconnection. If we are unable to make contact with you at the time the service is disconnected, we will leave a notice at your residence in a conspicuous place.

We offer several bill payment options for customers needing assistance.

In Oregon: We will read your meter approximately every 30 days. Bills are generated and mailed the following day and due and payable upon receipt. Bills are past due 15 days later. If payment has not been received by the past-due date, a notice will be mailed or personally delivered to your residence, and payment is expected within 15 days. Prior to disconnection, a final notice of payment due in five business days will be delivered either by phone mail, or personal delivery to your residence informing you of the date of disconnection. If we are unable to make contact with you at the time the service is disconnected, we will leave a notice at your residence in a conspicuous place.

We offer several bill payment options for customers needing assistance.

Both Oregon and Washington customers may elect to sign up for electronic billing (eBill). Instead of a paper bill being mailed to your residence, an e-mail is generated notifying you that your bill is available for viewing through Cascade’s Online Account Services. This service requires that you register for an online account. Through this account, you can view your recent bill, compare it to previous bills from prior months or even years (up to 2 years in the past), and make free payments. When enrolled to receive eBills, any disconnection proceedings will follow the normal guidelines for each state outlined above and customers will still receive disconnection notices in the manner described above.

Discontinuance of Service

You may be required to provide us at least three (3) days (Washington) and five (5) days (Oregon) notice if you intend to discontinue service. If you do not provide proper notification, you may be liable for usage.

  • Except in cases of danger to life or property, fraudulent use, impairment of service, or violation of law, we will not discontinue service without proper notice.
  • Except as otherwise agreed, we will not discontinue service on a Saturday, Sunday, legal holiday, or any other day on which we could not reestablish service on the same or following day.

Medical Certificates

In Washington: If you notify us of a medical emergency that requires the continuation of residential service, we will continue service for a grace period of five business days so you can provide written certification of the condition. Medical certificates are valid only for the length of time the condition is certified to last and no more than 60 days without renewal, and you will be required to enter into a payment agreement and to keep all bills current. You may claim a medical emergency only twice within any one hundred twenty (120)-day period.

In Oregon: If you notify us of a medical emergency that requires the continuation of residential service, we will continue service for a grace period of 14 days so you can provide written certification of the condition. Medical certificates are valid only for the length of time the condition is certified to last and no more than six months for certificates not specifying a chronic illness and not more than 12 months for chronic illnesses, without renewal. You will be required to enter into a payment agreement and to keep all bills current.